### Approved by Board September 20, 2021

## PATRICK HENRY COMMUNITY COLLEGE Special Called College Board Meeting 12:00 p.m.—May 19, 2021

#### **Minutes**

The Patrick Henry Community College Board held a special called meeting at 12:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 19, 2021, via Zoom, with Ms. Janet Copenhaver, Chair, presiding.

Due to the current situation with the COVID-19 virus, the meeting was via Zoom in accordance with § 2.2-3708.2 of the Code of Virginia and Chapter 1283 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly.

Janet Copenhaver, Chair, called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

Attendance was checked by roll call.

#### **ROLL CALL and Confirmation of Quorum**

Board Members by Roll Call		
		Copenhaver,
Present	Janet	Chair
Present	Dr. Denny	Casey, Vice Chair
Present	Gary	Collins
Present	Paul	Geib
Present	Robert	Haley
Present	Monica	Hatchett
Present	Roger	Hayden

Present	Barry	Helmstutler
Present	George	Hippisley
Present	Dr. Shana	LeGrant
Present	Dr. John	McCraw
Present	Wayne	Moore
Absent	Bill	O'Brien
Present	Robert	Vogler
Present	Wren	Williams

## College Staff present

Sue Ann Ehmann Jason Mabry Kevin Hairston

#### **Others Present**

Malinda Carter

### <u>Statement Regarding Attendance Through Electronic Means – Read by Janet</u> Copenhaver

This meeting of the Patrick Henry Community College Board of Directors is being held through electronic means due to the COVID-19 pandemic in accordance with Section 4-

0.01(g) of Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly. Members attending are using Zoom as the electronic platform for this meeting.

### **Closed Session**

#### Motion #1 to Convene in Closed Session

Janet Copenhaver, Chair, called for a motion to convene in Closed session.

Dr. Denny Casey, Vice Chair, made the following motion:

I move that the Patrick Henry Community College Board of Directors convene in closed session, pursuant to Section 2.2-3711, Section A, Sub-sections 1 and 4, of the Code of Virginia, as amended, for the purpose of interviewing a finalist for the position of president of Patrick Henry Community College.

Dr. John McCraw seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.

Board Members' Vote by Roll Call			
Yes	Janet	Copenhaver	
Yes	Dr. Dennis	Casey	
Yes	Gary	Collins	
Yes	Paul	Geib	
Yes	Robert	Haley	
Yes	Monica	Hatchett	
Yes	Roger	Hayden	

Yes	Barry	Helmstutler
Yes	George	Hippisley
Yes	Dr. Shana	LeGrant
Yes	Dr. John	McCraw
Yes	Wayne	Moore
Absent	Bill	O'Brien
Yes	Robert	Vogler
Yes	Wren	Williams

ATTENDANCE NOTES: The following staff members exited the meeting: Sue Ann Ehmann, Jason Mabry, and Kevin Hairston.

#### Motion #2 to Reconvene in Open Session

Ms. Janet Copenhaver, Chair, called for a motion to reconvene in Open session.

Dr. Denny Casey, Vice Chair, made the motion to reconvene in Open Session.

Dr. John McCraw seconded the motion. The motion passed by roll call vote.

Closed Session documentation included as (Exhibit A).

#### **Open Session**

Ms. Janet Copenhaver, Chair, called the Reconvened Open meeting to order at 6:40 p.m.

Attendance was checked by roll call.

### **ROLL CALL and Confirmation of Quorum**

Board Members by Roll Call		
Present	Janet	Copenhaver, Chair
Present	Dr. Denny	Casey, Vice Chair
Present	Gary	Collins
Present	Paul	Geib
Present	Robert	Haley
Present	Monica	Hatchett
Present	Roger	Hayden

Present	Barry	Helmstutler
Present	George	Hippisley
Present	Dr. Shana	LeGrant
Present	Dr. John	McCraw
Present	Wayne	Moore
Absent	Bill	O'Brien
Present	Robert	Vogler
Present	Wren	Williams

### Motion #3 to Certify the Closed Session

Ms. Janet Copenhaver, Chair, called for a motion to certify the Closed session.

Dr. Denny Casey, Vice Chair, made the following motion:

WHEREAS, the members of the Board of the Patrick Henry Community College, Martinsville, Virginia have convened a closed session on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712.D. of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by this Board that such closed session was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board reconvening in open session, hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed session to which this certification applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed or considered by the Board.

Mr. Barry Helmstutler seconded the motion. The motion passed by roll call vote.

Board Members' Vote by Roll Call			
Yes	Janet	Copenhaver	
Yes	Dr. Dennis	Casey	
Yes	Gary	Collins	
Yes	Paul	Geib	
Yes	Robert	Haley	
Absent	Monica	Hatchett	
Yes	Roger	Hayden	

Yes	Barry	Helmstutler
Yes	George	Hippisley
Yes	Dr. Shana	LeGrant
Yes	Dr. John	McCraw
Yes	Wayne	Moore
Absent	Bill	O'Brien
Yes	Robert	Vogler
Yes	Wren	Williams

ATTENDANCE NOTES: The following staff members returned to the meeting after the Closed Session: Sue Ann Ehmann, Jason Mabry, and Kevin Hairston.

### Adjournment

Janet Copenhaver, Chair, adjourned the meeting at 1:01 pm.

### Link to recording of Open meeting:

https://vccs.zoom.us/rec/play/gk0mAKuldRJB3Bg5GdCX1k5mXihCzlV\_5uHOgGeUXxNuUfYlOrNrUn3JmxvTXHzd6lpqpAV2GR531--4.ZTsjlu0N8JzolAtH?autoplay=true&startTime=1621438945000

### **Link to recording of Reconvened Open Meeting:**

https://vccs.zoom.us/rec/play/NRAaD8z89R5OfX5HhCtR0HvceQUhLdQ2tOLU0s3l9aEc4 AFW6Kf4iHMzpJBlWsge4lbDhgcBfKuFpOSs.pgoU7GP2ZNXh5dVG?autoplay=true&star tTime=1621443307000

Minutes Recorded By:

Minutes Approved By:

Sue Ann Ehmann

angeline Godwin Secretary to the Board

Attachments Included as Official Part of Minutes

Exhibit A - Closed Session Documentation

## CLOSED SESSIONS BOARD MEETING

DATE: 5-19-21 TYPE OF BOARD MEETING: Presidential Finalist Interview
LIST NAMES WHO LEFT THE MEETING PRIOR TO CONVENING IN CLOSED SESSION:
Was Dr. Godwin asked to remain in meeting?Yes
MOTION #1 - TO CONVENE IN CLOSED SESSION: (CODE OF VA. Section 2.2-3711, Section A, Sub-sections 1 and 4.
MADE BY: Denny Casey  SECONDED BY: John McCraw
TIME CONVENED IN CLOSED SESSION: 12:06

oard Me	mbers by Roll	Call
<b>V</b>	Janet	Copenhaver, Chair
<b>√</b>	Dr. Denny	Casey
$\checkmark$	Gary	Collins
/	Paul	Geib
<b>√</b>	Robert	Haley
<b>V</b>	Monica	Hatchett
/	Roger	Hayden
<b>/</b>	Barry	Helmstutler
$\checkmark$	George	Hippisley
1	Dr. Shana	LeGrant
$\checkmark$	Dr. John	McCraw
1	Wayne	Moore
ab	Bill	O'Brien
/	Robert	Vogler
1	Wren	Williams

ROLL CALL FOR ATTENDANCE IN CLOSED SESSION

Others pro	esent		
	Chancellor	DuBois	
	Malinda	Carter	
ab	Carla	Kimbrough	
ab	Jil	Stoddard	

# MOTION #2 TO RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION:

MADE BY: DUNG	Casy	
SECONDED BY: ~	John M	ccraw

Board Membe	ers by Roll Call	
/	Janet	Copenhaver, Chair
√ ·	Dr. Denny	Casey
<b>✓</b>	Gary	Collins
•	Paul	Geib
$\checkmark$	Robert	Haley
/	Monica	Hatchett
$\checkmark$	Roger	Hayden
$\checkmark$	Barry	Helmstutler
✓	George	Hippisley
✓	Dr. Shana	LeGrant
$\checkmark$	Dr. John	McCraw
<b>V</b>	Wayne	Moore
ab.	Bill	O'Brien
<b>V</b>	Robert	Vogler
✓	Wren	Williams

left prior to vote

TIME RECONVENED IN OPEN SESSION: 12:54
MOTION #3 TO CERTIFY CLOSED MEETING:
MADE BY: Dehny Casey
SECONDED BY: John McCraw
ROLL CALL TAKEN TO CERTIFY ONLY ITEMS ALLOWED BY CODE OF VA. WERE DISCUSSED IN CLOSED SESSION: YES: NO:
NAMES OF ANYONE ABSTAINING FROM VOTING OR WHO VOTED NO:
MEETING ADJOURNED (TIME):: O\
RECORD OF MOTIONS RECORDED  BY: Movica Hatchell

Completed Form goes to Sue-Ann Ehmann to be included in Minutes